Health · Things we do

No Junk Food Challenge

399898_junk_334567c

I love snacking and junk foods are my best friends ever since I was small. I really like crisps, biscuits and at I drank coke almost everyday at one point in my life. Then, when I was in college, my roommate, on the opposite, doesn’t like carbonated drinks and will always bring a bottle of water to class. So, i decided to do what she did and I slowly started to reduce my carbonated drinks intake.

Now, in uni, one of my housemate, Mel is studying psychology and  nutrition and she introduces me to all these kind of challenges: no junk food challenge, no sugar challenge etc haha 😀 So, last two weeks, I started the no junk food challenge on my own because I really think that it is time for me to train myself to eat less of these unhealthy food. Here is my list of junk foods that I am trying to avoid:

  • Chocolate
  • Crisps
  • Carbonated Drinks
  • Biscuits
  • Ice-Cream
  • Juices

Guys, I am telling you that IT IS NOT AN EASY THING FOR ME TO DO! My hardest challenge was when going to Tesco or Poundland ughhh… I can’t see all the snacks on their shelves without feeling like grabbing them. Well, if it was easy, it wouldn’t be a challenge at the first place, right? haha 😀

After 5 days of doing  the challenge, I reward myself with a custard doughnut and two glasses of carbonated drinks. Mel said that is ok XD Then I continue doing it again for a week. This week, the reward is another custard doughnut (because vinny brought it during meeting and I just could not resist the temptation) and also a homemade chocolate cake made in a rice cooker. You can have the recipe here.

Anyway, even though I didn’t do it for a full two weeks, I am still proud of myself because it is seriously not an easy thing to do. So, I am going to keep on doing it and try to improve on it. Maybe I will try to have the reward only once in two weeks and add more things to my list of junk foods like instant noodles/Ramen *gulp*

So, if any of you feel like trying no junk food challenge like me, I wish you all the best 🙂

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

