Experiences · Tips

My first phone interview

         IMG_8708Yes, you are looking at my countdown-to-summer-holiday calendar. And those dates I circled are my exam dates. I CAN’T WAIT TO GO BACK! (sorry keyboard, I am being emotional these days, blame the exam for that).

Anyway, I am planning to do an internship this summer because it seems like everyone is applying for internship I feel kinda weird if I don’t apply for one. But, it would be no harm in applying anyway. If I can secure a place, I can get work experience before I graduate and get some extra money for the holiday! haha 😀

So, I sent an application to Teach For Malaysia, an organisation fighting towards education inequality and they organised a phone interview for the candidates. I had mine yesterday and guess what, it was HORRIBLE! The worst interview ever. Maybe because it was my first time so I didn’t know what to expect and it was 8.30 in the morning, I wasn’t fully awake yet haha XD

Basically they just want to know more about me and my past experiences and how do I handle challenges in daily life etc. But, I guess I was too nervous, I couldn’t arrange my thoughts very well. Plus, I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to speak formally or informally. I mean, it was an interview but it was on phone and the person talking to me was talking quite casually but formally at the same time. It was just a very confusing moment and all the answers that came out of my mouth were pretty short. Sometimes I wasn’t even sure if I were answering the question or not.

To conclude, I prefer the normal interview where you can see the face of your interviewer and make eye contact with them. But, I believed that there will always be a first time for everything. At least now I know how a phone interview is like and I hope I can do better in the future if I were to have any more phone interview.

Three things that would tell myself next time :

1) Put some effort into knowing myself. I believe I know myself, what I can do, what I have achieved. But, it is also important to identify how (what method I used) did I  achieve those things and if I would address any challenge differently if I were given a second chance.  Another thing is that I should know my strengths and also my weaknesses.

2) Do some research about the organisation you are applying into. I don’t have to stress how important this is and I couldn’t believed made a mistake of not making enough research because I was assuming I was quite clear about what they do. NEXT TIME, BE VERY SURE AND GET TO KNOW ERRTHINGG THAT THEY DO!

3) Lastly, be very clear when you are explaining a situation or a scenario because they can’t imagine everything that we told them within the time constraint and without the assistance of body language and such

I learned a valuable experiences from the interview and I hope that I can do better in the future if  I have the chance. I hope that time, this post will help me to remind myself of what to do and what not to do 🙂

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

