Recipes

Ayam Masak Lemak Cili Padi

I am not a great cook but I love cooking (most likely it’s because I looooooveeee eating as well :D). When I was young, I cannot really eat spicy food (or maybe I just choose not to). Then, I went to a boarding school in Negeri Sembilan when I was 13 and it helps broaden my choices of food LOL! I mean, you don’t have that much choices when you are staying in a hostel. You have to eat what’s provided. Negeri Sembilan is famous with their spicy food and I particularly like ‘Ayam Masak Lemak Cili Padi’. So, today I am going to share with you guys a very simple recipe on how to make this yummy dish.

1 kg chicken (chopped into small pieces)

2 cups of coconut cream/milk

Salt

Sugar

Asam Keping/tamarind juices

Blend:

2 cloves of garlic

5 cm ginger

2 lemongrass

1 onion

1 tbsp. of turmeric powder (it would be better if you can get a real turmeric but the powder one is good enough)

Firstly, blend the ingredients and mix them with the chicken. Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a pot/wok and put the chicken inside. After a while or when the chicken is halfway cooked, pour your coconut cream inside the pot and let the chicken cooked for around 20 minutes (this really depends on the condition of the chicken. Lastly, put the asam keping, and some salt and sugar according to your preferences. VOILA! and it’s ready to be served 🙂

I didn't took any picture of the one I made last night but this is how it should look like. Thank you Google!
I didn’t took any picture of the one I made last night but this is how it should look like. Thank you Google!

I am sure other people might have a different way of cooking this dish, but this one is the version that will make your life easier.

Till next time!

Leave a Reply

