Kdrama · Reviews · Top Thursday

Top 5 Thursday: Not your typical K-Drama

descendants-of-the-sun2.jpg

Hey guys, it has been a while since I last shared about this hobby of mine, watching Kdrama. My housemates and I just finished with the latest amazing drama, Descendants of The Sun and now that we are done, we felt really sad. But, it is actually a good thing that we are not following any series now as it is exam time. But, I know some good dramas will be released this summer so I can’t wait to see them! Yeayy!

Anyway, I will share with you guys today my selection for top 5 of not-your-typical-Kdrama. This means that these dramas did more than just showing a relationship between a chaebol and a poor girl or about 2 guys wanting to get the same girl or anything like that. Basically, they are different and special in their own way. Some of it made you learn new useful things and also address some serious issues happening around us. So there you go:

Descendants of The Sun : Song Joong Ki, Song Hye Kyo, Jin Goo and Kim Ji Won

This is one hell of a drama. Everything was perfect, from the amazing casts and fantastic OST (almost the same reasons for all the dramas in this list), they nailed it. Most importantly is the story line. It is about a soldier and a doctor, both excelling in their profession and found love at an unexpected time. However, it was not an easy relationship because of their job and responsibility. They also shoot the drama overseas (I am not talking about London or USA here) making it even more interesting to watch. I don’t wanna comment too much because I might spoil this to some of you who haven’t watched this but I’m telling you that this drama is really one of a kind. Me and Dona actually cried for the first two minutes for some episodes.

Kill Me Heal Me : Ji Sung,  Hwang Jung-eum and Park Seo Joon

The best part of this drama apart from the super awesome OST was the actor. Ji Sung played 7 roles and I just love him. I have never watched any of his drama before but this one was totally amazing. It was about a guy with multiple personalities disorder and his struggles dealing with it alone. I would say that the starting of drama was really good and there some unexpected things but I find it was kinda draggy towards the end. But,nonetheless still a must watch!

It’s Okay It’s Love: Jo In Sung and Gong Hyo Jin

Another drama talking about mental disorder. Of course,the actors were incredibly amazing in this. If you don’t know, Lee Kwang Soo was in it as well and he made the drama even more enjoyable. I must say that the first episode was really boring to the point that I actually gave up and did not finish it. Then, I watched it again until I was done with the first one and the ending actually made me proceed to the next one. So yeah, just bear with the first episode move on. It was a really great drama till the end.

Master’s Sun: So Ji Sub and Gong Hyo Jin

I know Gong Hyo Jin’s name appears a lot here but she really is an amazing actress and I love her. Okay back to the drama, the heroin was someone with a sixth sense and has the ability to talk to ghost. Her path crossed with a chaebol who wanted to use her ability for his business. This drama is really funny. I was actually scared to start watching it because I read that they actually showed the ghosts but fret not, it was shocking at first because you will not expect them to appear but after few episodes, you will actually feel that they are funny rather than scary.

Producer : Kim Soo Hyun, Cha Tae Hyun, Gong Hyo Jin and IU

Lastly, one of a kind drama showing the reality behind the world of entertainment in Korea. How competitive and how scary it can get. It was portrayed from the point of view of a new PD (Kim Soo Hyun) who was really naive and innocent. Despite his struggle getting used to the alien world, he still did his best by being himself. This drama is different because it shows Korea’s entertainment from another perspective than what we usually see in TV. It shows who is behind all that. However, I am not too sure of how accurate the drama is in portraying that but it is really  worth watching!

So, these are my top 5 not according to any specific order. I just love them all. Most of the dramas above are quite recent so it must not be that hard to find where to watch them online. Thank you for reading.

Love, Qien 😀

One thought on “Top 5 Thursday: Not your typical K-Drama

Leave a Reply

